Yikes, I’m 30.. Now what?!

We cannot take our personal agendas to the Lord and expect him to bless it. That is dangerous, the Lord said in Psalm 127:1 “unless He builds the house, the builders labor in vain.”

Screenshot_20170425-083944.jpgI always knew it was something special about 30. Since turning 25, I’ve always anticipated turning 30, it was one of my many heart desires. At 30, I wanted to be married, be a homeowner, go to church still live like the world but proclaim I followed Jesus, have a few good friends who were on my “level” spiritually, mentally, emotionally and physically. I wanted to have my life puzzle completed by 30 and live happily ever after according to the worlds standards. 

We cannot take our personal agendas to the Lord and expect him to bless it. That is dangerous, the Lord said in Psalm 127:1 “unless He builds the house, the builders labor in vain.” My whole life, I was laboring in vain. Everything I tried to put together failed. Not only am I’m recovering from my losses, its been a lonely recovery.

But God, (it’s always a “but God.”) God had other plans for my life. So here I am, 30, still single and loving it! I’m not a homeowner yet, but my credit score is just about perfect to afford a nice home. I have a few friends that’s following Christ wholeheartedly and my growing, unwavering faith is all I have.

I believe God has called me for such a time this. Granted, I don’t have the clear vision yet. The Lord said to me “how can you lead if you, yourself cannot see?.” So God began to work within me; to recover me, to prepare me to answer the calling he had on my life. I needed to make a shift in my thinking, my prayers and my belief in Jesus. I entered into a season of recovery and I had to accept the assignment of being restored, redefined, recovered by God to walk into my calling.

Surely, I dropped the ball during recovery season. The faster I moved without him, the more I missed the power of God that would’ve been manifested in the beginning of my recovery season. I’m sure God did wonderful things that I was blind to because I served my flesh. As I look back over my life, I can’t help to think what if I started to follow Jesus sooner? How much further along in my call could I be if I would’ve been willing to follow the voice of the Lord? If it wasnt for the Lords patience with me, no doubt about it, I’d be in sleeping in my grave waiting to be judged as an unrighteous sinner. I’m thankful he had a purpose for me, that he set me apart for himself in my mother’s womb. (Jeremiah 1: 6) The Lord waited for me to surrender my life to him so that his good and perfect purpose can be fulfilled. 2 Peter 3:9 says “The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.” And Isaiah 60:22 He says “In the right time, I will make it happen.”

I had to become committed and choose to be obedient to what the Lord wanted for me versus what I wanted for me. I remember when I first came back unto the Lords covering, having a short fling with a man who said he also committed to the Lord, surely I wanted to be with him, even build with him a life with him, but I had no peace about him and one night as I was laying in my bed the Lord said to me “daughter have you forgotten I will give you the desires of your heart if you seek me first.” My spirit agreed and in that same moment, I cut the relationship off. No regrets, no doubts, no fears.

Screenshot_20170425-084357In order to be used by God, we must be willing to be faithful and committed to God more than we are to our own selfish desires. Intentional obedience is more acceptable to God than our own personal, idolatry agendas. Whoever is faithful in very little is also faithful in much (Luke 16:10). There will be season where God will test you in the area of commitment to see if he can trust you with small things. God requires us whom he has set apart for himself to be trustworthy and obedient. Can God trust you? Are you willing to be faithful with small things? Whats small to you, isn’t small to God. We must start to look from Gods perspective. Isaiah 55:8 the Lord says “His thoughts are not our thoughts and his ways are not our ways.” God used the prophet Isaiah and he touched his mouth with fire. He spoke wisdom with his words from the lord. If you have not read it, please do. But don’t just read it, study it, meditate on it. We have the same power, it is a gift from the Lord.

Remember, God is searching the earth for those whom he can use (2nd Chronicles 16:9). Many of us are too busy to be used by God. God has called us to be set apart in our thinking, speaking and daily actions. God is ready to shift your life for his good and perfect purpose. You can look to the future with confidence because you are becoming a vessel for what the Lord has created you to do. 

Be Encouraged on Facebook!

Allow God to complete the work in you that he has started in this season. Conquer the familiar. Victory is often found in the unfamiliar and uncomfortable places usually after difficulty has occurred whether from our doing or not. Most of the time, when things get tough our natural response is to go back to whats familiar. Conquering the familiar is an opportunity for God to reveal that he is with us. God is ready and willing to lead you through the familiar to get to the supernatural.  Walk by faith and not by sight as you be about our fathers #KingdomBusiness.

To sign up for our monthly inspirational click here

 

Author: JaQuaa

Woman of God First, Blogger Second. Author, soon!!

Leave a Reply

